Grits and Groceries

So, let me tell you, I have been trying to get to Belton, South Carolina, for the LONGEST time to check out Grits and Groceries and I finally made it, due to S having to go there and get tools that someone had for sale.

Grits and Groceries is located in an old country store on Due West Highway and has a menu featuring “real food done real good”.  They are only open for lunch Tuesday through Saturday with dinner being served only on Thursdays and breakfast on Friday and Saturday mornings.

Menu

Grits and Groceries lunch menu boasts of a variety of southern comfort food sandwiches, as well as weekly specials. The word on the street is the Palmetto Burger is amazing- a local beef burger topped with homemade pimento cheese and bacon.

Their weekly specials can be found on their website, along with the Thursday dinner menu and the Saturday brunch menu.

Lunch Menu

Thursday Dinner Menu

Saturday Brunch Menu

Weekly Specials

Southern Fellow’s Experience

S and I enjoyed our meal very much. He was so excited when we first pulled up because of the ginormous chicken they have on the street corner. It was actually quite impressive.

For appetizers, S ordered the Hattie Mae’s Tomato pie, which was delicious. I ordered the fried cheese grits with tomato gravy. It was fantastic- a nicely fried cube of grits covered with a delicious tomato sauce.



For my entree, I had the hardest time making a decision. I was going between the beer braised ribs, the New Orleans Shrimp Po-Boy, and the fried catfish sandwich. After consulting my waitress, I decided on the beer braised ribs, which were a special. (I guess I’ll be returning for the Po-Boy and Catfish Sandwich) The ribs were slow cooked, and fell right off of the bone, and served with smoke house potato salad.


S had it a little easier to make a decision than I did. My selling point on getting him to the restaurant was the crawfish pie, so he was sold and had his mind made up before we even got in the car. The crawfish pie came in a flaky pie-crust and filled with a rich Louisiana-style crawfish filling. It was wonderful.


I have to tell you, we were stuffed after all of that and still got dessert to go. Sorry I don’t have a picture. I had the pound cake which was served with strawberries and homemade whipped cream. S had the strawberry pie. We definitely were not disappointed.

Leave a Reply

