The War Mouth

It has been a while since I blogged about a restaurant outside of Greenville, so I am kind of excited about this post. S and I were recently in Columbia, South Carolina, and decided to grab lunch before we headed home. One restaurant that I’ve had my eye on for the last few months was The War Mouth. I don’t remember how I ended up coming across a blog post on this restaurant, but boy am I glad I did.

The War Mouth is located just outside of a downtown Columbia in a neighborhood named Cottontown in an old auto repair shop.

Menu

The menu at the War Mouth is described as “new southern”, which just plays on the old southern classics we all know and love with features such as catfish stew on the list of appetizers, a pimento grilled cheese sandwich on the lunch menu and the barbecue plate on both the lunch and dinner menus.

IMG_1514

There is also a very nice cocktail menu focusing on bourbon and gin based cocktails.

My Experience

Like I previously stated, S and I visited War Mouth during lunch on a Friday afternoon. When we first arrived the restaurant wasn’t too busy, but did seem to pick-up during our visit.

IMG_1527

To drink, S had a sazerac, which he doesn’t ask for often but whenever he sees it on a menu, he orders it. He was very pleased with it. I had a Partridge- a gin based cocktail with spiced pear liqueur and lemon. It was a very wintery drink, but oh my gosh was it delicious.

fullsizeoutput_50a

Partridge

For our meals, S had the duck confit sandwich which comes with Thomasville Tomme, arugula and orange compote. In his words, “it was #*@!ing delicious!” I’m not sure those would be the exact words I would use, but it was a very good sandwich- definitely a must try.

fullsizeoutput_50b

Duck Confit Sandwich

I had the fried pork chop sandwich, which I will say is a weakness of mine. If you aren’t a fan of spicey food, this isn’t for you, because it has a little kick that seems to build after eating it for a minute due to the pepper mayo. I’m not a fan of spicey, but it was a fantastic sandwich and I decided I needed to power through, and I am so glad I did. For our side, both of us ordered the mac and cheese- another weakness. Not exactly, my mom’s mac and cheese, but definitely holds its weight.

fullsizeoutput_50c

Fried Pork Chop Sandwich

War Mouth is definitely on my list of places I must visit again in Columbia and I suggest you do the same.

 

Leave a Reply

