Weekenf Whereabouts: Southern Fellow meets the West Coast pt 2

Now, to pick up where I left off. 

Day 3

Saturday in Seattle was a little rough. I had to recover from Halloween night and get up for a tour of Pike Place Market given by Savory Seattle. I decided to take the VIP tour, which starts at 9 in Post Alley at the famous Gum Wall. Yes, it’s so gross but so cool at the same time! 

My tour guide, who I’ll name “B” because I don’t remember his name but I’m pretty sure it started with a “B”, was very good. I love a good cheesy joke and he was full of them while giving us history and fun facts about the market. I wish I had more time in Seattle to check out his Booze and Bites tour, but there’s next time!
On the tour I saw the “first”, which is really the fourth Starbucks, the Pike Place Boys (yes, they threw a fish or two for us) and had some incredible macaroni and cheese and chocolate! 

The line to get into Starbucks!!! No thanks, I’ll go to the one around the corner.

After my tour I caught the ferry to Bremerton to hang out with Layla and the fam. She was running a little behind, so I grabbed lunch at Anthony’s. It was a fun time of course! We got Layla’s haircut, drank wine and sharpened pencils. 

The ride back to Seattlebthat night was an interesting one. I thought it was ok to take a nap on the ferry because everyone else did it and ended up being the last one on the ferry. Luckily they don’t let you keep riding the ferry back and forth and they woke me up. (Embarrassing, I know)

Day 4

Sunday was a funday-no pun intended. We went dress shopping for round two and we actually found a dress! Of course, I can’t show it to you, but Layla almost had a moment. It was exciting! I was a bit disappointed they didn’t have a bell though. 

Sunday night we all had dinner at a place called The Boat Shed. I’m sure it has beautiful views during the day, as it is located on the water with views of the bridge and I guess what’s considered downtown Bremerton. The food was pretty good. 

Day 5

Ugh, yes my trip came to an end and I was quite upset, but I squeezed one last Seattle meal out before I spent the day with Layla and the kids. I had one of the best salmon burgers ever from another Tom Douglas restaurant, Seatown Seabar and Rotisserie. 

Layla wanted me to stop and grab her some doughnuts on my way to the ferry but I didn’t have time to stand in line. I did grab her some cheesecake though, from The Confectional. Sooo good and they ship them!

Pumpkin cheesecake! 


As you can see, I had a blast in Seattle! Definitely a fun city, especially if you’re a foodie! I’m planning a trip for the summer when the weather is better! 

Leave a Reply

