Euphoria Weekend!

This weekend was a much anticipated event on my calendar for the year. Greenville’s Euphoria was this weekend and I have to say I had a blast despite my fighting a sore throat. For the past few weeks I’ve been bragging, if you will, to friends, coworkers, and family about attending this event, and now I get to brag to everyone about how amazing it was! 


In case you’ve never heard of Euphoria, it is a 9 year old food, wine and music festival started by Greenville restaurantuer Carl Sobocinski and singer and songwriter Edwin McCain. Euphoria allows the Greenville area a chance to show off it’s culinary and arts scene, which has definitely taken off in the last decade. It is also a charitable event, in which it’s net proceeds go to Local Boys Do Good.

Now, this was my first Euphoria and after attending my first Atlanta Food and Wine Festival in May, I can honestly say Greenville competes with the big boys. A few months ago as I was looking at packages and deciding what events I wanted to check out I ran across a livingsocial deal that helped me make my decision. I also ran across a few discount codes at the pre-Euphoria event Tapas and Tinis and through the Good Eats and Meets meetup that I have joined.

Taste of the South

My first Euphoria event was on Friday night, Taste of the South. It was a beautiful night to hang out outside with great food, music and drinks. When I walked into the Peace Center’s Wyche Pavilion, where all of the food was, I got so excited! Like I told a lady I met from Charlottle the next day, “all of my favorites were there.” There were also beverages from Firefly Vodka, Chateau Élan vineyard and winery, and one of Greenville’s microbreweries, Thomas Creek. 


I really enjoyed Firefly’s specialty cocktails for the evening. They had a Peach Moonshine margarita, which had all of the ingredients of a traditional margarita just substituting tequila for Firefly’s peach moonshine. The other specialty cocktail was called a Fuzzy Fly, modeled after a fuzzy navel. 

I also enjoyed the music from Nasheville’s own, Sixwire. 

Tasting Showcase


My second Euphoria event was the Tasting Showcase on Saturday. Now, this is where I was able to see if I had learned my lesson from the Atlanta Food and Wine Festival. The lesson learned was “pace yourself”, by the way. Upon walking in, you can get very overwhelmed and drunk if you’re not careful. There were vendors from wineries, moonshine distilleries, breweries, as well as local eateries. 

Wine and a cupcake…2 of my favorites! 

Music by local talent…Erica Berg Collective. I wish you could’ve seen the lady dancing on the side. She was so funny.

I hate beer, but I tried 2 for you beer drinkers!
Traffic Jam

Traffic Jam at The Old Cigar Warehouse in the West End was my third Euphoria event. This is the only event I didn’t do solo, I brought my sister along with me and we had a blast! Traffic Jam is basically Euphoria’s food truck rodeo. In it’s second year, it was a hit and was sold out. I would say that was in part to Wingmen’s stars, Corey and Ramone, bringing in their stuffed wing food truck, 2 Fat 2 Fly, but I talked with a few people who weren’t sure who they were. My sister became very fond of Bo Daddy’s Smokehouse, which is an upstate favorite! 

Somehow we took over this hammock and kept enjoying the strawberry moonshine cocktails by Firefly and music by Seven Handle Circus.

Shredded pork sandwich from Bo Daddy’s Smokehouse with the Carolina vinegar BBQ sauce. The chicken with the Apple BBQ sauce was also really good.

Stuffed wings from 2 Fat 2 Fly!
Unfortunately, I didn’t make it to my last Euphoria event, which was the South State Bank Jazz Brunch due to a REALLY bad sore throat. I’m sure it was phenomenal! 
I’m definitely looking forward to next year! Mark your calendars for September 17-20, 2015!
Leave a Reply

