Foodie Fest 2014: Stella’s Southern Bistro

It’s Foodie Fest, which means Mrs Brûlée and I went to dinner at restaurant neither of us had visited before. To be honest, that’s getting a little difficult considering we have knocked out the majority of the restaurants on this year’s list.

In case you don’t know what Foodie Fest is, it is basically Greenville’s Restaurant Week. Many restaurants in the area offer a special menu in which you can get a 3 course meal for $30. Amazing right?
This year we chose to go to Stella’s Southern Bistro in Simpsonville. I must say it was definitely a treat and Simpsonville has a hidden gem. It is tucked away in a little strip off of Fairview Rd. Once inside, you kind of forget you are in Simpsonville.
I will be honest, Mrs Brûlée and I had a lot of catching up to do so when we received a couple of unexpected dishes compliments of the chef, I didn’t get all of the notes I should have.
Our first two dishes were compliments of the chef. The first dish was a local heirloom tomato and mozzarella salad, pinkeye peas, basil purée and red wine vinaigrette and served with a pepperocini crostini. I loved it! It was very light and refreshing.

The second dish was bacon steak (forgot the name they called it) with a grape risotto. It was actually my favorite dish of the night. The meat had a nice crust on the outside and was very tender on the inside with amazing flavor. Mrs Brûlée and I tried each piece separately and then it all together. The grapes added an amazing burst of flavor. I’m typically not a risotto fan but with the flavors and textures mixing together I enjoyed it.
This dish is not on the menu just yet. Hopefully we will see it soon though! I think it would be a great addition.
Typically we don’t order the same thing, but both of us were actually feeling the same things on the menu that night. Our true first course was a sweet potato and peanut soup with a bacon jam and sesame seeds. It was different and an interesting combination of flavors. We both really enjoyed it, until I took a sip of my champagne with it. I do not advise that. The champagne enhances the salt. 

For our entree we did Stella’s mixed grill, which was barbecue chicken, duck, and grilled andouille served with dirty cheese grits, braised turnips and a gumbo-like sauce. This was a really good dish. The duck and turnips were my favorite parts. The andouille was a bit too hot for me, but I’m a wimp when it comes to spice.

Mrs Brulee and I did go different routes for dessert. I couldn’t make up my mind between the two choices, and she was really feeling the peach cobbler which wasn’t included in Foodie Fest, so we asked our waiter to just surprise us. He did the safe thing and brought us one of each. Even though we basically shared both desserts, I had the blueberry Swiss roll, a vanilla sponge cake with blueberry preserves and served with a white chocolate toffee. The dessert as a whole was descent. Our favorite part was the white chocolate toffee. Unfortunately the chef that makes it does not sell it outside of the restaurant. 

Mrs Brûlée had the spice banana rum cake, which was served with a cajeta mousse and coffee caramel. The dish all together was good. Mrs Brûlée really enjoyed the cake without all of the trimmings though. 

Service at Stella’s was absolutely wonderful. Our server Levi, was very attentive and we enjoyed him a lot. 
As you can see, we started off Foodie Fest this year with a bang and we have once again found another amazing place to dine. If you haven’t picked out a place to eat during Foodie Fest, Stella’s is highly recommended.

Stella's Southern Bistro on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

