Cured my shrimp and grits craving: Breakwater Restaurant and Bar

Monday night I decided to take myself out to dinner and for some reason I was craving shrimp and grits and sushi. I know sounds like a weird combination, which is why I had to choose one over the other. I decided to go to Breakwater Restaurant and Bar.

The appetizer menu ranges from southern favorites such as pimento cheese and southern fried shrimp to humus and calamari. I had the souther sampler because I couldn’t decide what I wanted. My four choices were duck pastrami, fried oysters, pimento cheese and fried shrimp. I loved the duck pastrami. It had a great flavor. The oysters and pimento cheese were great as well. The shrimp was good, just wasn’t impressed by it.

For my entree I had shrimp and grits, which I’m sure you guessed. It was probably one of, if not the best shrimp and grits I have had in a while. Some other entree options are surf and turf, salmon, a grilled rack of lamb and, of course, southern fried chicken.

To drink I had the Bellini-tini, which if memory serves me correctly it was St. Germaine and peach Ciroc, and I’m missing an ingredient. It was a very good drink.

I sat at the bar with what seemed to be quite a few regulars. Service was great! I’m actually thinking about going back for Foodie Fest (Aug 21-31, 2014)! 

Breakwater Restaurant and Bar on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

