Weekend Whereabouts: Charlotte!

Last weekend I was in Charlotte for yet another family reunion, this time it was my maternal grandmother’s family. For some reason I had a bad feeling about this trip when I woke up Thursday morning, but tried to go with an open mind. 

Thursday night, we stayed at the Great Wolf Lodge in Concord, which was a blast. It was a fantastic family friendly environment and in most cases you wouldn’t even need to leave the hotel because they have everything, restaurants, indoor waterpark, arcade, bowling alley, bar and a few more amenities for the family to enjoy. 

My sister and I did however leave late at night to enjoy some sibling bonding time at Dave and Buster’s down the road with a little dinner, drinks, and reliving the days of sibling rivalry on arcade games. By the way, arcade games are so much more fun with a little adult juice in your system. 
Friday, the entire family enjoyed a day at Great Wolf Lodge’s waterpark. My favorite slide was the Howlin’ Tornado. We did it about 4 times. It is definitely a must-do if you’re of the height requirement.

Friday night consisted of switching hotels so we could stay with the rest if the family and a meet and greet for the family at my cousin’s house and then a night in the town. My sister, aunt and I went to Epicenter in Uptown. We first visited a rooftop bar called Rooftop 210. It was a pretty cool place, with a great atmosphere. 

The second place we visited was Howlin’ at the Moon, which is a piano bar. I took my sister to a piano bar in Fort Worth a few months ago, so now she likes to serif there is one around when we go out. It was my aunt’s first time in one and we all had a blast!

The rest of the weekend wasn’t as much fun as the first two days. After we got back to our room, we discovered we had problem with our hotel room, which I won’t go in detail about, but it was awful! No one got any rest, which everyone in my family needs or else we have attitudes.
Saturday was family fun day at the park, which was ok for the most part-lots of games, food and conversation going on. I’m not sure if it is a good or a bad thing, but my family is very competitive so things got a little interesting at the park, especially during the family kickball game, which ended in a 17-17 tie to appease everyone. 
Saturday night, I needed a little time away from family, so I went out alone to the Woodshed. It was quite an interesting place. It was my first time there and I had heard a few people talk about it. Of course, it’s a gay bar, but not one of those pretentious ones. I’m sure it can be a fun time for some.
I didn’t get to do any of the family activities planned for Sunday. I had to get home for work Sunday night. I hope you all had a great weekend!
Leave a Reply

