The Whistle Stop Cafe

For some odd reason I had a desire to go to Travelers Rest, SC, also known as TR, yesterday. Don’t ask me why, I just did. So, after I slept half of the day away and got a few chores done I looked up places to eat and came across The Whistle Stop at the American Cafe.

The Whistle Stop Cafe is located on TR’s Main Street, which is slowly seeing some growth possibly due to the Swamp Rabbit Trail. I think I saw this place on Facebook a while ago, but I had not heard much about it. Urbanspoon only had one review, so I didn’t have much to go off of, as to what I should expect.

The atmosphere of The Whistle Stop Cafe is very family friendly with exposed brick walls and train paraphernalia through out.  They also have some old pictures of TR hanging on the walls.
The menu has something for everyone, from roasted chicken to shrimp and grits. They also try to use as many local ingredients as possible. 
For an appetizer, we had the chips (I don’t remember the exact name), which were homemade chips fried in truffle oil and covered in a sauce with Parmesan cheese. They were good, but I felt it was lacking something. 

My date ordered a side salad with his entree. It was pretty large, so he shared it with me. The salad was a bed of spinach with bacon and a balsamic vinegarete. The vinegarete was really good.
I asked out waiter his recommendations as far as entrees go. He recommended the pork chop with mashed potatoes and green beans or the steak. For some reason, I typically don’t follow the waiter’s recommendations and usually do my own thing, but I listened this time and it worked out well for me. I had the grilled pork chop with bacon macaroni and cheese and corn pudding. The pork chop was cooked perfectly, which was a bit surprising as when I usually get pork chop out it is dried out. The macaroni and cheese was really good, even though there wasn’t much bacon. 

My date had the shrimp and grits which he said was really good. He was very glad the shrimp was cooked correctly and didn’t have a fishy taste. He said he is very picky about his seafood.
The service wasn’t bad, and in case you are wondering they do serve beer and wine.
This place is definitely a hidden gem. I am glad I stumbled upon it. Hopefully I can bike the Swamp Rabbit Trail soon and visit for lunch. 

 

The Whistle Stop at The American Cafe’ on Urbanspoon

2 responses to “The Whistle Stop Cafe

  1. I hadn't heard of the Whistle Stop in TR… I used to live in Georgia, and the Whistle Stop Cafe there was the one where they filmed Fried Green Tomatoes.

    Like

  2. Yes, I've heard about the one in Georgia. In reading the history on the restaurant, it used to be called The American Cafe but with it's change in ownership within the same family and after a naming contest it became the Whistle Stop at the American Cafe and is apparently known as Whistle Stop Cafe to locals.

    Like

Leave a Reply

