Happy Birthday ‘Merica! Dinner at Universal Joint

My Independence Day was spent in the bed, at work for a few hours and then dinner with a guy I met online. I had a late night after the baseball game on Thursday, so I didn’t get out of bed until about 12 and that was probably because I had to get to work. Ugh! Work was cool though, not to busy but it wasn’t completely dead. Dinner was pretty cool though. 

 We went to a new restaurant/bar in the North Main neighborhood, called Universal Joint. I had only been here once, about a week ago for drinks. It is a very laid back atmosphere, which is why I chose it to meet this guy for the first time. I knew I didn’t want to go downtown because of the mass of people the Red, White and Blue Festival (aka fireworks) draws. The last time I went, it took me almost 2 hours to get home and I usually get home in 15/20 minutes depending on traffic. Also, with it being our first time hanging out and him being newer to town, we needed somewhere a little more chill.

Universal Joint has a pretty versatile menu ranging from chips and cheese and salsa on the appetizer menu to salads, burgers and a variety of sandwiches.

For an appetizer we had chips and cheese and the salsa. It was ok, nothing to really write home about. The cheese probably could’ve been melted a little more and the salsa was a bit hot, but again, it wasn’t terrible but wasn’t fantastic. (sorry, I didn’t want to scare him off by taking pics of the food this time) For an entrée, I had the Brisket Philly, which is smoked brisket with cheddar cheese, sautéed mushrooms and caramelized onions. It was really good, and I had it with a side of tater tots. He had the arugula and mushroom quesadilla. It looked pretty good, didn’t ask how it was but considering he ate it all, he was either hungry or with was good.

I’m sure I’ll be back to check out more of the menu and just to hang out with friends.
Universal Joint on Urbanspoon
Leave a Reply

