Weekend Whereabout Part II

So, Sunday I just had to see Dallas. I just wasn’t sure what all of the fuss was about concerning the DFW area, so I figured Dallas was the place to be. 

I am a firm believer in taking tours to cities you’ve never been to. It helps you figure out what to do and where to go. My sister is now convinced, thanks to me, that is the first that that should be done when visiting a new city. So, I’m sure you figured out what Sunday consisted of-a tour.
We did the Big D Fun tours, which takes you around the city in a trolly while pointing out landmarks, various neighborhoods, and giving you a history lesson. My sister said she was a bit weary at first, but was really glad I suggested it.
The really neat thing about the tour is, it starts in Deally Plaza, which right down the street from Grassy Knoll and the 6th floor museum, which is the area where JFK was assassinated.

 

This X marks the spot where the 2nd bullet that was shot, hit him in the back.

This X marks the spot, where the 3rd bullet went through his head.

Our trolley!

 

Picture of the Dallas skyline while on the trolley tour.

The First Baptist Church of Dallas, which just went under a huge renovation.

 

Pioneer Plaza, the world’s largest bronze statue-and the ONLY stop on the tour.

After the tour we were all hungry so we went in search of food. During the tour we saw an area known as Deep Ellum, which had two restaurants featured on the show Diners, Dives and Drive-ins. We decided to go back to the area and see what we could find. Of course, we ended up at one of the restaurants featured on the show, Twisted Rootbeer Co.

My mom waited until after dinner to let us know what time our flights were this morning. My cousin and I were scheduled to leave at 515 am! Bananas right?!? So the night was filled with saying “goodbye” to our family in Texas and packing our bags to come home.
My sister and I hung out in Deep Ellum for a little while to enjoy the park and community garden. The community garden is kept up by the people in the community and is basically right under the interstate.

I am now back in Greenville safe and sound after running around DFW international airport at 430 am, and waiting on the runway for an hour before taking off because of a storm. 

Leave a Reply

