The Southern Way: AFAWF

Last year, on the last day of the Atlanta Food and Wine Festival, Captain Seahorse told me he had heard about some amazing food thing going on in Atlanta, so curiosity got the best of me and I went to find what he was talking about. The Atlanta Food and Wine Festival was it and unfortunately we couldn’t make it. For the past year, I have made it a goal to be sure that I was there this year, and you better believe I made it!
I chose not to attend any seminars or classes this year, but I did check out the tasting tents. It was soooo good! Being a novice at this blog thing and being a foodie, at least I think, I’m not sure where exactly I’m suppose to go with all of this, but can I say again, AFAWF was amazing!
So let me lay it out for you. There’s a parking lot/grassy area in the middle of Midtown Atlanta (yes, I know. Who would’ve thought that? I certainly didn’t) where these “trails” have been laid out with either multiple tents or giant tents. Each trail had it’s own theme (southern, seafood, desserts, etc) and you travel these themes tasting whatever you’d like as many times as you’d like. It was absolutely phenomenal.
As a virgin to this event, I wasn’t sure what to expect going in. I’m thinking a few restaurants and chefs I’ve never heard of with fantastic food and great wine. It was something to that effect, but more! 
The southern food section was mainly ribs, pork, a duck popper or something of that nature (I just know it was duck and it was spicey, but good) and even some macaroni and cheese. I even saw a couple of restaurants I recognized, Jim & Nick’s Barbecue from Alabama and Fox Bro’s in the Atlanta area.

On my way to the next trail I met a fantastic truck giving out whiskey! 

The strawberry rye whiskey and ginger beer was really good-at least to me. I heard a couple of ladies behind me that weren’t fans of ginger so they didn’t care for it. 
The next trail I hit was the seafood trail. I enjoyed the beginning of this trail a lot more than the end. I don’t recall all I had, but I did get oysters and gumbo-southern seafood staples right?

After the seafood trail, I had a fantastic cocktail with sweet tea moonshine and lemonade. I wish I remembered the brand and took a picture. 

The next trail I went through was southern grown. It started out with food, mainly chicken and vegetables grown in the south and then became the liquor tent. I probably had 4 or 5 different liquors while inside of there. 

The last trail I went through carried a lot more recognizable names to me. I saw my favorite liqueur St Germain-they were giving out recipe booklets and fantastic cocktails. I also saw Soby’s from here in Greenville and the French Broach Chocolate Lounge from Asheville. I was really excited when I saw them across from each other.

 

Stella Artois was also in attendance. I told a coworker I’d have a beer for him this weekend and I really wanted a Stella glass so check out my selfie:

Thank God I chose to stay in Atlanta this weekend and not drive to the festival. I had a little too much to drink and have learned a lesson for next year, pace yourself. I also found my new favorite thing, Uber. It is an app for car service. I found these cars to be a lot nicer than the minivan taxi that picked me up from my hotel, plus it’s a little cheaper.

Oh, and before I forget check out the most ingenious thing I think has ever been invented for festival enthusiast, who happen to be winos! A lanyard to hold your wine glass while you eat and be social.


Well I’m definitely looking forward to next year’s event, but until then Euphoria 2014-Greenville is coming in September!
One response to “The Southern Way: AFAWF

Leave a Reply

