Artisphere 2014

A few weeks ago Greenville hosted one of the areas largest arts festival, Artisphere, and after many years of attempting to go, or going and not having a good time because of my personal life, I made it!

Artisphere has become Greenville’s signature event/festival for spring. It attracts local, regional and national artist and I’m sure brings quite a few travelers into town. Artisphere covers every aspect of the arts from performing and visual arts to allowing local restaurants to display their culinary skills.
Of course, with my crazy work schedule I wasn’t able to check out everything, but I did check out most of the tents as well as, what I feel is one of the major attractions every year, Brian Olsen’s Art in Action. It was very cool. He painted a picture of Michael Jackson, while having a jam session with most of his hits playing in Falls Park. 

I didn’t really feel like checking out the festival’s “food court”, so I decided to give Papi’s Tacos a second chance. Papi’s is located on the river walk behind River Place and the Peace Center and under The Lazy Goat (if that’s not specific, not sure what is). It is a Table 301 restaurant, but has a different concept than the rest of Table 301’s restaurants. Table 301 wanted a street food feel, but in brick and mortar. 
This visit was much better than my first visit. I had a Carne Asada taco and the Al Pastor taco. Both were pretty good, not the best I’ve had though. 

I ended up just having a picnic by myself along the river while people watching (it’s a hobby of mine). Hopefully I’ll get to spend a little more time at Artisphere next year. If you are in the area during Artisphere, be sure to check it out.
Leave a Reply

