Greenville Small Plates Crawl

From March 24-26, a handful of Greenville restaurants hosted a small plates crawl. Participants of the crawl were encouraged to print out passports to get stamped as they traveled from restaurant to restaurant, accruing points to qualify for different prizes. Each plate was priced between $3 and $8, and a few places had drinks on the menu.

Although my work schedule didn’t allow me to participate as much as I would have liked, I did catch it on the last day. 
My first restaurant was Restaurant 17, which is located in Travelers Rest, SC at Hotel Domestique. With this being one of the newest restaurants of Greenville’s fine dining scene, and me having not tried it, it was a must!
I had the salted fish fritters, which were amazing, followed by creme brûlée with a drink named Sir Elton. It was all so good, and I was quite disappointed I had to move onto the next spot. This is definitely a place I’d need to visit for a full meal.

My next stop was at Pomagranate on Main. This is a place I’ve always looked at in passing and wanted to try, but hadn’t. I met up with the Brûlées here. We each tried the lamb with rice and a martini that I don’t remember the name. It was very good, another place to add for a full meal.

 

After Pomegranate, we tried to head to a favorite of ours, American Grocery Restaurant and then to Breakwater. Both of them had long waits so we moved along to High Cotton.
At High Cotton I don’t remember what I had, but I know I wasn’t impressed at all.

Our next stop was The Lazy Goat. Firsts, let me say the service was awful. We waited on someone to come and take our drink orders for a while. Once he arrived and we had questions about the drinks, the poor guy didn’t know too much about the menu. I ordered the grilled calamari. It wasn’t at all what I expected, a little cold and a sauce that was a bit too spicy for my liking. (Note: I’m a wimp when it comes to spice)

 

The last stop on our crawl was an oldie but goodie, The Cazbah. I had the shrimp tacos, which were delicious! 

I had so much fun, as well as the Brûlées. I cannot wait to do it again. It also sparked a thought for us to do our own crawl, since some places change restaurants with the seasons, or a dessert crawl!
Leave a Reply

