Dinner in Piedmont?!?

For the longest time I have been wanting to get outside of the Greenville area to try new restaurants. My thinking was I eat at all of theses amazing places in Greenville all of the time, where do the people of the surrounding cities, towns, and counties eat?

Well due to an unfortunate semi-blind date situation that landed me in the Clemson area. I figured well this is my chance to try something new. So I checked Urbanspoon before heading home and nothing really peaked my interest. I got on I-85, and checked again once I got into the Piedmont area. I found a place called Saluda River Grill. I had never heard of it, but it seemed to have a good rating and mixed reviews.
Saluda River Grill is located right on Piedmont’s Main Street in what appeared to be an old mill or warehouse. The interior is gorgeous with light fixtures hanging from the ceiling. If it weren’t already a restaurant, I think it would be a beautiful event space. 

On to the food! For an appetizer, I ordered the pickle chips. Nothing special, just fried pickles served with ranch. They were good, I think I would have preferred them to be a little crunchier. 

The menu had lots of great items that peaked my interest, and of course me being as hungry as I was, I couldn’t decide. I asked my waitress for suggestions and she gave me her favorites first, which were the sirloin and the burger. She also said the shrimp and scallop Alfredo was a customer favorite. Of course, after all of that I went in a different direction and had the pecan crusted trout with collard greens and a loaded baked potato. The pecan crusted trout wasn’t my favorite. The flavor was kind of bland. I think I also expected it to be a little more crusted, or fried. The collard greens and baked potato, however, were delicious. 

For my drinks I had the Gamecock Delight, which is raspberry vodka, chambord, triple sec and cranberry juice. It was good, I think it was a little too sweet for me. I also tried the Hemmingway Daquari, which was Bacardi rum, triple sec and lime juice.

I definitely want to try this place again, and maybe actually take on the waitress’s suggestions instead of doing my own thing. The staff was very friendly, which is always a plus! 

Saluda River Grill on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

