Atlanta weekend!

Finally, I get to tell you about my weekend! Surprisingly, it wasn’t as eventful as I would have liked it to have been, but a little getaway and R&R (rest and relaxation) are always nice. 

Thursday I drove down to Atlanta and checked into the Glenn Hotel. It was wonderful-valet, complimentary cocktail at check-in and quiet. I couldn’t have asked for anything better, nor should I have expected anything different from a Marriott autograph hotel. It was located in a great part of town, right in the middle of everything. I was right across the street to the CNN studio and Centennial Park and a few blocks from the aquarium. 

To celebrate Halloween, I went and checked out Blake’s at the park, a popular gay bar in Midtown right across from Piedmont Park. I have to tell you this was my first time checking out Atlanta nightlife, it was a lot to take in especially with it being Halloween. 
I did dress up as Peter Pan. I thought my costume was amazing and I would enter the contest until I arrived at the bar. Me in a short tunic and hosiery didn’t compare to the fruit of the loom angel I saw or the gladiator in leather. It was quite a sight.

For some reason, I woke up ridiculously early Friday morning, 8ish, and tried to sleep in but couldn’t. So I watched the episode of Scandal I missed the night before. I later spent my day driving to some of the Atlanta shopping venues, Lenox, Phipps, and Atlantic Station to be exact just seeing what caught my eye. Thankfully, I didn’t do much damage. I also had lunch at Mary Mac’s, review coming later.

Friday evening, I met Mrs Brûlée and an old coworker at South City Kitchen for dinner before the concert. It was delicious. I had the fried chicken with mashed potatoes and collard greens. I was a bit indecisive so I just kind of picked something. I must go back and try something else.
The concert was phenomenal, even though we were late. We made it just in time to hear Tamar Braxton sing “Love and War”, which was her last song. I’m glad Mrs Brûlée was able to come with me. It was her first concert since Criss Cross in 1996 or something crazy like that. 

After the concert, I just grabbed a couple of drinks at the bar in the hotel and chilled for the evening. Surprising right?!? I guess that early start caught up with me.
Saturday, I grabbed lunch and then met the Brûlées to see the movie 12 years a slave. It was very good, I definitely recommend it. I will say it is a bit graphic though. 
After the movie I hit the road back to Greenville. I told myself I wasn’t going to stop by the outlets, but somehow my car just happened to get off at the Banks Crossing/Commerce exit. Thank goodness I stopped though, I found a trench coat at the Banana Republic factory store and a dark denim button up shirt at J Crew. I’ve been looking for both of these items for weeks now!
My Saturday ended at a party back in Greenville with my friend, Cocky. I don’t really use the word ratchet, but that is the only way to describe this place. I wish I had taken pictures. I was a little out of my element and apparently it was noticeable.
That about sums up my weekend. I hit the ground running on Sunday and I just slowed down enough to write today. I hope you have a had a great week!
Leave a Reply

