Weekend Recap

Oh what a weekend it has been!

Saturday after work, I checked out Fall for Greenville with a couple of friends, Lady K and her beau to be exact. The evening was filled with people watching, laughs, food and wine, of course. 
Hanging out at Fall for Greenville led to a night on the town, with a few more friends. Our 3-some turned into a 5-some and by the end of the night, I was a couple with one of my best friends since the 9th grade, Layla. It was a fun time, I taught her how to flirt with guys. I also ran into people I haven’t seen in years! 
My Sunday was a lot of fun too. I went to church and then to a baby shower in the afternoon. My old manager and good friend, Maria, is expecting her first child and her family threw her a surprise shower. It was so good to hang out and see old coworkers. 
Now let me elaborate on this shower. Not to get all “racial” but this was my first Hispanic celebration, and it was a little different than what I am used to. First of all it was suppose to last 4 hours, which made me think it was a drop-in type of thing. I was wrong, and forgot Hispanics party ALL NIGHT LONG! Then there was wine and sangria, and Maria’s mom was so nice and kept them coming. The room was very festive with centerpieces and balloons and pictures! Usually I’m the only guy at baby showers, unless the father is present. Not this time! There were several men there. Hispanics really value family and it showed!

The food was also amazing! I’m used to finger foods, chips, meatballs, wings, you know the deal. We had salad, rice, pork tenderloin (I think), and a pasta with seafood mixed in (shrimp, clams, oysters) and two cakes! 
So one of my favorite parts of the shower was when my old coworker, decided to play a joke on Facebook. She tagged her beau in a status that read “It’s a girl!”, which was true, Maria is having a girl, but her friends and family didn’t know she was at a shower. To help her out with her joke, Kandy and I “liked” the post and wrote comments like “soo excited!” Needless to say, it didn’t take long before sorority sisters and family started calling, texting and commenting wondering why they had not been told the news before it went viral.
 weekend. I hope yours was just as amazing as mine! 

Leave a Reply

