Just call me a food cowboy

I finally got a chance to check out the Greenville food truck scene at the first food truck rodeo in Downtown Greenville. I was a little disappointed because all of the trucks were not there, but it was still great to finally be able to check things out. 

I have checked out food trucks in other places such as Indianapolis at their First Friday Food Truck Festival and Charleston at the Grape Stomp Festival at Irvin-House Vineyard. I didn’t want to compare the Greenville Rodeo to either of these because the food truck scene is just now really getting started here. 
There was kind of something for almost everyone at the rodeo. The Fudd Truck was there serving Fudruckers’ burgers. I didn’t get the chance to look at the menu they had on site, so I’m not sure what all is available from their traditional menu. 
The Hog Hauler, the mobile version of Henry’s Smokehouse, made its debut at the rodeo. I could smell the food from their truck a block away. 
Chocolate Moose was there serving their delicious cupcakes. 
Asada food truck was also in attendance, serving gourmet tacos, nachos and quesadillas. Captain Seahorse and I chose to eat from this truck for two reasons. One, they don’t have a brick and morter restaurant…yet, and two I heard so many good things I wanted to try it for myself. 
We stood in line for about 45 minutes if not longer waiting to order. By the time we got to the truck to order they were running out of food, plus it was almost time for them to head out. Since they were about out of everything, we had steak tacos, which were served with chips and salsa. It was very good! 

It was great to see so many people come out to this event. Hopefully Neue Southern and Thoroughfare food trucks are in attendance next time. Be sure to check out these great food trucks on twitter and Facebook to find out their whereabouts. 
Also I think a few of them will be at Euphoria’s Traffic Jam. 
Leave a Reply

