5 on Friday-4th of July style

Since yesterday was the 4th of July and I’m blogging anout my vacation this week. I am killing two birds with one stone and doing my 5 on Friday about my 4th of July.

One

Yesterday morning when we left Chicago the sun was finally out to greet us. It was so good to see Chicago all bright-eyed and bushy tailed.

Two

Of course, the 4th of July wouldn’t be the 4th of July without a family cookout. So all, well most, of Mrs “W’s” family came over and we had a lovely time. Everyone was so nice. We had great food, drinks, conversation and even a game of scrabble.

Three

Mrs “W” asked me to make a sangria for the family cookout. So I did of course,  following a recipe I found on the St Germain website. It was quite delicious,  a little stronger than expected. Captain Seahorse kept telling me to add a little more St Germain. Here is the recipe:

1 bottle of Sauvignon Blanc
1 cup of St Germain
2 fresh peaches
5-6 strawberries
Raspberries
Grapes

Just add all of the ingredients and stir. Let it sit for at least 15 minutes and then you have greatness in your mouth.

Four

So for the last 2 years, Captain Seahorse couldn’t talk about the holidays or coming home without mentioning his dad’s turkey. He told me we would be having turkey for the 4th of July and I told him that isn’t right. Turkey is for Thanksgiving, at least until yesterday. Mr “W” made a turkey and it was delish!

Five

Captain Seahorse and I left the cookout a litrle early to see Despicable Me 2. It was great! I didn’t see the first one, can’t even tell you what it’s about, but the 2nd one is soooo funny.

Well that’s it for today! I hope your week has been as fantastic as mine.

Leave a Reply

