Monday Bunday

My Memorial Day did not consist of cookouts (BBQs), lakes, or even family time. I had to work for a few hours, do a little cleaning, dinner alone and dessert and entertainment downtown with my childhood bestfriend, Singing Spurg. 

I had a groupon for 21 East that I needed to use, and Captain Seahorse isn’t a fan. Seeing that he was working, it seemed like an opportune time. This was not my first time at this restaurant. Captain Seahorse and I went about 6 months ago for dinner and we have both visited as a bar/nightclub.

21 East is located on East Washington street in downtown Greenville.  It is a restaurant and bar during the early evening and nightclub on weekends. There is a daily happy hour from 430-730pm featuring $3 well drinks, $4 glasses and $2 off of all drafts. There are also weekly events and specials, such as Monday Bunday (all burgers $5) and brunch Wednesday nights. Reservations are recommended for dinner on the weekends.


Tonight I had shrimp and fried grits for an appetizer. Delish! 3 shrimp on top of 3 grit-cakes covered in a gravy with tomatoes. For my entree, I had the Grandpa burger-burger with bacon, eggs, cheese, lettuce, and tomato.  The burger usually comes with fries, which you can upgrade to parmesan truffle fries for $2. Since it was Monday Bunday,  fries are not included in this deal. Regular fries, however, can be added for $2 and truffle fries for $3. I had a Hruska for my first drink. Hruska is Russian for pear, as I learned tonight. It is a martini type drink featuring St. Germain, vodka, pear juice, soda water, and a baby pear. It was good-not my favorite.  My second drink was called “the Fizz”. Wonderful drink, if I do say so myself. It consist of St. Germain,  champagne,  soda, and fruit. 

I have to say this experience was much better than my time. The lobster macaroni and cheese was good, just a little on he colder side. I overheard another customer, tonight, praise the truffled tater tots. Hopefully I can convince Captain Seahorse to try this restaurant again.


21 East Bar and Grille on Urbanspoon 

My friend, Singing Spurg, joined me at the end of my dinner. We walked to the West End to the Blueberry Frog for some fro-yo (frozen yogurt). It was actually my first time having fro-yo. I usually stick to ice cream, but I have to say this was pretty delicious. I had the plain tart yogurt with m&ms and strawberries.

Leave a Reply

